French Toast’s Powdery White Secret

Somethings should never change.  Mastercard Commercials.  NYC’s Little Italy.  Christine O’Donnell TV Ads.  And mother’s french toast recipe.  The fantastic combination of eggs, bread and maple syrup to break up the breakfast monotony of my six different cereal choices.

Last week we ran out of all our basic breakfast foods, which means there was no more oatmeal in the pantry.  Three eggs remained, which was not enough for two people who take the “breakfast is the most important” thing seriously. So french toast was the choice.

But I was about to start a food blog, and writing about the boring way I made French toast would surely make me lose the little readership I had.  With this newfound credibility granted to me by my blog, I decided to search for the best French toast recipe on the planet.  And there I discovered the secret ingredient in France’s most successful export.

Delicious French Toast with Flour

Flour

Why had I never tried this before?  Basically this turns French toast into bread soaked in sweet crepe batter.  And who doesn’t like sweet crepes?  If you don’t, this blog is not for you.  Flour thickens the batter, allowing it to soak through almost twice the number of break slices I thought I would get.  I thought I would have to ration my batter to get it across enough bread, but by my eight piece of toast, I was left pouring the batter over the already soaked toast on the pan just so I could finish the batter and start eating.  It turned out delicious that way, so do that.

Here’s what I used:

Butter for the pan

Wheat Bread for the, um, toast

3 eggs

A little less than 1/3 cup flour

1/2 cup milk

A little less than 1/3 c sugar

A lil bit of vanilla

A little Salt

A good smattering of cinnamon

Make your French toast

You know what to do.  Whisk together all the ingredients and heat up your generously-buttered frying pan.  Keep whisking the batter as you use it, because it separates and the flour gets lumpy.  Dip the bread, slap it on, and put it in your mouth!  Don’t forget to chew – it’s good, enjoy it.

It was good enough to eat on it’s own.  I added a fruit sauce I will blog about in the near future and dulce de leche, being the Argentine substitute for pretty much anything sugary you put on baked goods.  You put on whatever you so desire – it’s your breakfast!

This entry was posted in Food Discussion, Savory, Sweet, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to French Toast’s Powdery White Secret

  1. mariann budde says:

    Speaking with some authority, I say this is a vast improvement over your mom’s french toast.

Leave a Reply

